The Forbidden Archeologist

Reviews and Endorsements


"The Forbidden Archeologist is an excellent overview of the powerful evidence indicative of remote human antiquity…the time is not far when today's alternative science will become tomorrow's mainstream science."

-Dr Rajesh Jalnekar
Vishvakarma Insititute of Technology
Pune, India


The Forbidden Archeologist: A Book Review
Reviewed by Lawrence Gallant in Ancient American [Issue Number 90, April 2011, p. 43]

I do not know why Lori Erbs, research assistant to Michael Cremo, sent me a copy of his latest book, The Forbidden Archeologist, to review but I am grateful that she did. You might say that it was a life-changing experience for me as it answered some of my own questions about spiritual evolution and survival of the human spirit as expressed in his previous work, Human Devolution.

Each of the five-page, 49 chapters of The Forbidden Archeologist is a separate tale of his experiences speaking around the world about his first book, Forbidden Archeology. The episodes are a compilation of his articles in Atlantis Rising, which were always a good read. Now it’s nice to have his adventures under one cover and to be able to follow them in a chronological order. They are written in the first person and, for the first time, I felt that I really got to know an author as a person; what he stands for, his beliefs, his likes and dislikes. It made me wish that some of my other favorite authors would write about their own personal adventures.

I must admit to only having spot-read Cremo’s original Forbidden Archeology and picked out the subjects from the index that particularly appealed to me that pertained to the history of ancient America. Little did I know the depth of the material that I was missing and never suspected the evidence for extreme human antiquity. The concept of knowledge filtration and how to handle it is a subject that any author or lecturer in our field should be aware of and know how to handle. Such as Cremo’s handling of the Russian scientist who told him during one of his engagements, “I have not read your book but am sure that everything in it is a mistake or a hoax.”

Rather than just being a stuffy anti-Darwinist, Cremo’s knowledge of other controversial subjects range from UFO’s, alien abductions, extraterrestrial archaeology, remote viewing, reincarnation and the spirit world; subjects you wouldn’t normally expect from a scientist. But, after all, they are part of the picture and have to be considered in the overall scheme of things for a comprehensive answer to our existence. Mr. Cremo is the only person I know who takes all of these factors and more into consideration. Some of his stories are amusing, some are surprising, but all are educational and thought-provoking. Particularly fascinating to me are the extremely antique records of Babylon, China, Egypt, India and the Maya civilization.

I didn’t realize until I happened to read The Forbidden Archeologist in natural light that the pages are tinted in pale violet and wondered if that somehow subliminally affected the true pleasure I felt in reading it. The built-in bookmark is a nice touch also.

This book is a must read for any unbiased historian, cultural diffusionist, or anyone disseminating these subjects to the public. I intend to go back and peruse Forbidden Archeology to see what I missed. But my first “must read” will be Human Devolution.

Mr. Cremo writes that he loves to attend conferences and meet other authors who he has read. I feel the same way and feel honored to be on the same program and look forward to meeting him at the AAPS conference in September.

The Forbidden Archeologist:
Atlantis Rising Columns of Michael A. Cremo

Reviewed by FATE Magazine [January-February 2011]

Michael Cremo, author of The Forbidden Archeologist, is a writer, a historian who has done groundbreaking work in archaeology and paleontology, and a devotee of the Vedic culture of ancient India. Hence he has an interest in exploring just how deep man’s timeline extends into this planet’s ancient past; Vedic writings place human beings on Earth for over a billion years. Cremo makes “the case for extreme human antiquity,” the main point of the research that has brought him both praise and condemnation from the mainstream scientific community.

In his vast research, he has discovered evidence that contradicts the accepted theory that people evolved from ape to man. Rather, he has proposed that man walked the Earth side by side with Neanderthals and dinosaurs. Take for instance the African Olduvai Gorge fossils of anatomically modern man discovered in undisturbed rockbeds no younger than a million years old. Or, the one I find most disturbing, the infamous California Gold Mine artifacts that were dated to be millions of years old. These artifacts now reside under lock and key at the University of Berkeley, California, where no one is permitted to study them.

Cremo catalogs numerous instances of information being ignored, stolen, or manipulated just to maintain the status quo. This is the secondary point of the book: a foray into the dirty politics of science and the suppression of information.

The scientific community is presented in the book as seemingly lacking any atmosphere of cooperation and evokes a sense of prideful hoarding like Gollum and his precious ring. The instances of infighting, falsification of research, bullying, and refusal of publication by opponents unwilling to recognize alternative ideas are particularly disappointing. But anyone who knows how competitive and result-driven these fields of study are can understand why. Facts are ignored or manipulated to suit the popular theories.

The book is a collection of the columns that Michael Cremo wrote for Atlantis Rising. They are broken into chapters a few pages in length and each is diverse and unique enough to digest easily.

Just as the early supporters of Darwin’s theory of evolution squared off against the religious naysayers of their time, Michael Cremo is on the front line for the battle to decide the history of humanity. The Forbidden Archeologist is a rebuttal to Darwin’s Origin of Species and those who regard the Darwinian theory as literal fact.

And just to be on the up and up, it should be noted that the author, Michael Cremo, is not a Ph.D.—but then again, neither was Darwin.

The Forbidden Archeologist Book Review
Reviewed by Nexus Magazine UK [February-March 2011]

The ancient wisdom traditions tell us that mankind has existed on Earth for many millions of years, says researcher Michael A. Cremo (Forbidden Archeology, 5/06; Human Devolution, (11/01). Since 2001, Cremo has been writing a regular column for Atlantis Rising magazine, and The Forbidden Archeologist is a compilation of these columns through into 2009.

Cremo discusses the evidence for extreme human antiquity as well as his experiences in presenting his findings at international scientific meetings and at alternative science and new age conferences. He also examines the "filtration process" that keeps knowledge that conflicts with the mainstream version of human history out of the picture. Further, he adds to his theory of human devolution: that as beings consisting of matter, mind and consciousness, we "devolved" or came down from pure consciousness.

Having a particular interest in the Vedic traditions, Cremo dispels the myth that archaeology was introduced to India by 16th-century European travelers; instead, it's a tradition that goes back thousands of years. He cites the example of the sunken city found in the Gulf of Cambay, northwestern India. It could be at least 9,500 years old and may revolutionize our knowledge of Indian history in line with the ancient Puranas. It's a troublesome notion for European scholars who insist that Aryan migration into India commenced around 3,500 years ago.

Cremo's groundbreaking research ensures a compelling read.

The Forbidden Archeologist Book Review
Reviewed by Chard Currie in New Dawn [April 30, 2011 - Issue 126]

How old do you think is our modern branch of humanity? Mainstream science would have us believe that anatomical modern humans appeared on the scene around 100,000 years ago. That’s not a long time in the grand scheme of things, and is based on the assumption that Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution by natural selection is (capital T), True.

But scientific ‘theory’ it remains, and that’s where people like Michael A. Cremo step in.

Cremo is a familiar name to many New Dawn readers. Over the past 30 years he has argued for and provided evidence of the extreme antiquity of the human species.

We’re not 100,000, 200,000 or 500,000 years old. Cremo’s research, heavily influenced by the Hindu ‘Vedas’, leads him to believe that humans are in fact millions of years old and perhaps dwelt on Earth as long as the planet has existed.

His most well known books are Forbidden Archeology (co-authored by Richard L. Thompson) and Human Devolution: A Vedic Alternative to Darwin’s Theory. These controversial books shot him to fame in the world of alternative archaeology. He has appeared on numerous mainstream science and media outlets, and featured on the TV series ‘Ancient Aliens’.

Since 2001 Cremo has written a regular column for Atlantis Rising magazine, and this new book, The Forbidden Archeologist, is a collection of his columns published over the last nine years.

The short and to-the-point chapters follow Cremo’s adventures around the world, explaining in easily digestible form his ideas and the evidence he’s collected backing up his theories.

For instance, did anyone ever hear of the Mammoth bones found in California in the late 1980’s that show signs of cut marks made by stone tools? The ivory was carbon-dated and the age obtained was 335,000 years old. Or the copper coin found in Lawn Ridge, Illinois that is supposedly 200,000 years old; the Buenos Aires skull (1 million years old); the Nampa, Idaho human figurine, thought to be 2 million years old; or the California Gold Mine skeletons and artefacts, which were found in layers of rock around 300 million years old?

Of course, many people have not heard of these (this reviewer included), but to Cremo this comes as no surprise, as mainstream science has a status quo to follow, lest the world be turned upside down and humanity plunged into a state of confusion and identity-loss.

A few chapters are dedicated to the fact that mainstream science suppresses such information, and the chapter comparing Darwinism to religion is pure gold. Cremo visits the Darwin museum in South Africa (the Sterkfontein Caves – the ‘Cradle of Humanity’ because of a human-like skeleton found there), then proceeds to blow the historical record away, as well as the dogmatic aspects of Darwinism grafted onto modern science. He writes:

“Evolution is like the new religion. Not only does it have its priests (evolutionary biologists) and scriptures (The Origin of Species) and saints (Darwin). It also has its churches (museums), and sacred places (like Sterkfontein) and relics (fossils of our ‘ancestors’) and its Inquisition that condemns heretics (like me). All very religious.”

All these ideas and evidence are wrapped up in what comes across as a travel diary of Cremo, as he goes around the world seeking evidence, giving talks and searching for vegan restaurants.

Some of it is light hearted, such as his adventures in Eastern Europe, while other chapters are hard hitting. He attacks mainstream science and the education system that is bringing up the next generation without all the facts about human evolution (or DE-evolution, as Cremo believes we have devolved from a higher state of existence). These parts of the book made this reviewer shake his head in disbelief at the gall and grip modern science has over us.

For those unfamiliar to Michael A. Cremo, The Forbidden Archeologist would be a good place to start. This reviewer also feels that it is rather a companion piece to his previous works, so reading them first (or alongside) would make for some truly insightful and liberating brain food.

If you think you know all about the history of our species, think again, as Michael A. Cremo proves we have barely even broken through the topsoil.

The Forbidden Archeologist Book Review
Reviewed by Wisconsin Bookwatch and Internet Bookwatch [December 2010]

Are we selling the age of the human race short? The Forbidden Archeologist delves into the opinions and studies of Michael A. Cremo as he offers his own take on human history very different from the standard explanations of creationism or evolution, stating that humanity may have a range of millions of years on this planet, far longer than we truly believed. With intriguing ideas that prove heretic to other archeologists and anthropologists, The Forbidden Archeologist proves to be an utterly fascinating read.

Review of The Forbidden Archeologist: The Atlantis Rising Magazine Columns of Michael A. Cremo
Reviewed by Cynthia Sue Larson

Michael Cremo's book, The Forbidden Archeologist takes us on an amazing trail exploring the controversial mystery of 'forbidden archeology.' Cremo describes evidence of man's existence dating back hundreds of millions of years, far earlier than generally accepted by traditional historians and archeologists. Presented in the format of columns originally written for Atlantis Rising magazine over a period of several years, The Forbidden Archeologist showcases a decade of Cremo's passionate crusade to challenge scientists to consider artifacts and evidence that fall outside popular theories.

While most scientists currently agree that humans left Africa some 60,000 years ago, Cremo presents a large body of evidence indicating that humans have existed in North America for hundreds of millions of years. Cremo describes how numerous things including skeletons, a metal vase, and a very modern looking shoe print have been found in solid rock dating back hundreds of millions of years. None of this information is presented in modern anthropology and archeology textbooks, due to bias toward censoring findings that disagree with dominant paradigms. Cremo's anti-evolutionary stance may be unsettling or outright distasteful to some, but when read with an open mind to review the facts he presents, we can empathize with his outrage for how so much archeological evidence has for so long been repressed.

The Forbidden Archeologist is mind-expanding reading and a fabulous conversation starter. In a perfect world, this book would be required reading for aspiring scientists, to encourage higher ethical standards for scientific research, regardless how far outside our commonly accepted theories facts and findings may be.

The Columbo of Archaeology, Michael Cremo: Blockbuster Book
Reviewed by Kim Greenhouse, Communications Steward & Counsel, Broadcast Host, Producer & Book Goddess - It's Rainmaking Time!

The Forbidden Archeologist is so important in educating the public about the multifaceted discoveries in archaeology that have been systematically suppressed from leading archaeologists and academicians and kept away from the public at large for over 100 years. Michael Cremo is a grounded professional who, like a pit bull with great manners, lays out case after case of mind-blowing information about our existence from a forensic standpoint. He dots every i and crosses every t. He just keeps citing example after example of how and why the theory of evolution regarding the age of humanity is millions of years off the mark. This book should be required reading in new schools who are dedicated to true discovery that have a profound love of learning. Parents who are courageous should order the book and empower your children to learn about our real history and allow your children to learn from forensic evidence that Michael Cremo writes about. It will change your entire understanding of history, science and cosmology. Get ready for a profound set of new insights about who we are and how long we have actually been on earth.

The Forbidden Archeologist Book Review
Reviewed by Michael Boruch, MS

Michael Cremo's most recent book, The Forbidden Archeologist, is a wonderful collection of his columns from the Atlantis Rising magazine that has been published over the past ten years. His book is an exposé of Darwinists' complicity in controlling the gullible as well as obsequious people at least of the Western hemisphere of this planet. Mr. Cremo poignantly shows all the flaws of the evolutionary theory, which is more of a scientism than real science. He humorously as well as succinctly exposes all the Darwinian myrmidons who blindly follow their false prophet of gross materialism and atheism by showing the falsity of the so-called "missing links" that have been discovered in the past ten years. It is indeed a must read for open-minded people who are willing to challenge the existing aggressively materialistic paradigm that is based on the false ideas and preconceived notions of the very few pyrrhonists who filter the evidence of human antiquity on this planet that contradicts their delusion of a theory; in that sense The Forbidden Archeologist is an iconoclastic masterpiece.

In some of his Atlantis Rising columns Mr. Cremo points out that we are all in a sense extraterrestrials, because we are ennobled spiritual beings, beautiful units of Eternal Pure Consciousness who happen to be covered by the different types of material energies, and that process he calls devolution or descent from the state of pure consciousness into more gross types of matter. This process is described in the ancient Sanskrit writing of the Vedas. I think it is brilliant, and it is good that Mr. Cremo exposes the Western readers to these deeply spiritual as well as esoteric concepts. I laud The Forbidden Archeologist, and highly recommend it to free thinking open-minded people wherever they are on this planet. I am very happy to give Mr. Cremo five stars for his interesting as well as very well researched and informative book.

The Forbidden Archeologist Book Review
Reviewed by Parthibaraj Rajasekar for the Pune Book Club [March 2011]

For those who believe every pronouncement of the scientists, this book will be an eye-opener. This book is actually a collection of articles [that] appeared in Atlantis Rising magazine. The author is well known among the archeological scientist circles for his famous masterpiece Forbidden Archeology (abridged version: The Hidden History of the Human Race) co-authored with Richard Thompson.

This book is just kind of a follow up of the masterpiece. The author has done a decade of research for archeological findings which don’t fit in…Darwin’s evolution.

The bottom line of his research work is there are hundreds of archeological findings which don’t support or contradict or even overturn the evolution theory which we are taught right from… school. These discoveries are reported, but not acknowledged or supported or not taught in the schools and universities just for ONE REASON: The discoveries don’t fit in the established evolutionary theory.

You don’t reject an evidence, just because that doesn’t suit your theory, do You? Well it’s not easy to guess that’s not a[n] open minded way of doing research by the Darwinian scientists. The author has exposed such discoveries which don’t fit in Darwin’s theory and th[e]se ha[ve] been rejected for the sole reason. On the other hand there are scientists who want to make these discoveries appear in [the] media. But [they are] suppressed by… peer and institutional pressure.

This knowledge filter has been happening for [a] couple of centuries at least, which has left us with an altered view of [the] origin of [the] human race.

One of the main concepts to understand is the knowledge filter. When [the] author says knowledge filter, he doesn’t mean something like scientists gather[ing] around a dark room and say[ing] let’s cheat the public. Rather he refers to suppression of confidential information due to oversight or peer pressure or institutional pressure or the researchers’ attitude and many other reasons.

Some of the claims of the author in the book are as follows:

1. Archeological evidence for extreme human antiquity – [a] number of evidence [is] there. I cannot list…everything here. It makes sense only [if] you read the evidence with its background information and its analysis and critique.

2. Experience in presenting the evidence at major international scientific conferences, World Archeological Conferences, etc.

3. Need for presenting the evidence and alternative explanationa of origin of [the] human race in textbooks in schools and universities.

4. Alternative explanations on origin of life.

5. His archeological endeavor in Srirangam, Tamil Nadu.

6. …Being an inspiration to one more book: Nature’s IQ.

And many more topics. A must read for those who want to think beyond Darwin’s theory…

The strong point is he makes the book easily readable for everyone, even [those] who [are] dumm[ies] in archeology, and his way of writing the article[s] with some fun is a plus. Overall it’s a great read.

My Rating : 9.5/10